Community

Upcoming talks

Fast federated SQL with Apache Calcite (Chris Baynes)

At ApacheCon Europe 2019, Berlin, Germany, October 24, 2019; [summary].

Project Members

Name (Apache ID) Github Org Role
Aman Sinha (amansinha) MapR PMC
Andrei Sereda (sereda)   Committer
Ashutosh Chauhan (hashutosh) Hortonworks PMC
Chris Baynes (cbaynes) Contiamo Committer
Christian Beikov (cbeikov) Blazebit Committer
Chunwei Lei (chunwei) Alibaba Committer
Danny Chan (danny0405) Alibaba PMC
Edmon Begoli (ebegoli) Oak Ridge National Laboratory Committer
Francis Chuang (francischuang) Boostport PMC Chair
Gian Merlino (gian) Imply Committer
Haisheng Yuan (hyuan) Alibaba PMC
Hongze Zhang (hongze) Tencent Committer
James R. Taylor (jamestaylor) Salesforce PMC
Jacques Nadeau (jacques) Dremio PMC
Jess Balint (jbalint) Stardog Committer
Jesús Camacho Rodríguez (jcamacho) Hortonworks PMC
Jinfeng Ni (jni) MapR PMC
John Pullokkaran (jpullokk) Hortonworks PMC
Josh Elser (elserj) Hortonworks PMC
Julian Feinauer (jfeinauer) Pragmatic Minds Committer
Julian Hyde (jhyde) Looker PMC
Kevin Liew (kliew)   Committer
Kevin Risden (krisden)   PMC
Laurent Goujon (laurent) Dremio PMC
Maryann Xue (maryannxue) Intel PMC
Michael Mior (mmior) Rochester Institute of Technology PMC
Milinda Pathirage (milinda) Indiana University Committer
MinJi Kim (minji) Oracle Committer
Muhammad Gelbana (mgelbana) Incorta Committer
Nick Dimiduk (ndimiduk)   PMC
Nishant Bangarwa (nishant) Hortonworks Committer
Ruben Quesada Lopez (rubenql) TIBCO Committer
Sergey Nuyanzin (snuyanzin) EPAM Committer
Shuyi Chen (shuyichen) Uber Committer
Slim Bouguerra (bslim) Hortonworks Committer
Stamatis Zampetakis (zabetak) TIBCO PMC
Steven Noels (stevenn) NGData PMC
Ted Dunning (tdunning) MapR PMC
Vladimir Sitnikov (vladimirsitnikov) NetCracker PMC
Volodymyr Vysotskyi (volodymyr)   PMC
Zhen Wang (zhenw)   Committer
Zhiqiang He (zhiqianghe) Huawei Committer
Zhiwei Peng (zhiwei) Ant Financial Group Committer
Zoltan Haindrich (kgyrtkirk) Hortonworks Committer

Emeritus members

Name (Apache ID) Github Org Role
Alan Gates (gates) Hortonworks PMC

Mailing Lists

There are several mailing lists for Calcite:

You can subscribe to the lists by sending email to {list}-subscribe@calcite.apache.org and unsubscribe by sending email to {list}-unsubscribe@calcite.apache.org (where {list} is either “dev”, “issues”, or “commits”).

Help

Need help with Calcite? Try these resources:

  • Mailing Lists. The best option is to send email to the developers list dev@calcite.apache.org. All of the historic traffic is available in the archive. To subscribe to the user list, please send email to dev-subscribe@calcite.apache.org.
  • Bug Reports. Please file any issues you encounter or fixes you’d like on the Calcite Jira. We welcome patches and pull-requests!
  • StackOverflow. StackOverflow is a wonderful resource for any developer. Take a look over there to see if someone has answered your question.
  • Browse the code. One of the advantages of open source software is that you can browse the code. The code is available on github.

Talks

Want to learn more about Calcite?

Watch some presentations and read through some slide decks about Calcite, or attend one of the upcoming talks.

One SQL to Rule Them All - an Efficient and Syntactically Idiomatic Approach to Management of Streams and Tables

At SIGMOD/PODS 2019, Amsterdam, Netherlands, 2019 and Beam Summit Europe 2019; [paper], [review], [pdf], [video].

Apache Calcite: A Foundational Framework for Optimized Query Processing Over Heterogeneous Data Sources

At SIGMOD/PODS 2018, Houston, TX, 2018; [paper], [slides], [pdf].

Spatial query on vanilla databases

At ApacheCon North America, 2018; [slides], [pdf.

Apache Calcite: One planner fits all

Voted Best Lightning Talk at XLDB-2015; [video], [slides].

Streaming SQL

At Hadoop Summit, San Jose, CA, 2016 [video], [slides], [pdf].

Cost-based Query Optimization in Apache Phoenix using Apache Calcite

At Hadoop Summit, San Jose, CA, 2016 [video], [slides], [pdf].

Planning with Polyalgebra: Bringing together relational, complex and machine learning algebra

As Hadoop Summit, Dublin, 2016 [video], [slides].

More talks